Lyndall Clipstone – YA Gothic Author

Lyndall Clipstone writes about monsters and the girls who like to kiss them. A former youth librarian who grew up running wild in the Barossa Ranges of South Australia, she currently lives in Adelaide, where she tends her own indoor secret garden.

Her debut novel, LAKESEDGE, will be published by Henry Holt, Titan UK and Pan Macmillan Australia in Fall 2021 with a sequel, FORESTFALL, to publish in Fall 2022.

She is represented by Jill Grinberg at Jill Grinberg Literary Management.

Lakesedge – debuting September 28th, 2021

LAKESEDGE is a lush gothic fantasy about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer.

Now available for preorder:

US: Bookshop | Indiebound | Barnes & Noble | Amazon | Books-a-Million | Powells | Indigo | Book Depository

UK: Bookshop | Foyles | Waterstones | Forbidden Planet | Book Depository | Amazon

When Violeta Graceling and her younger brother Arien arrive at the haunted Lakesedge estate, they expect to find a monster. Leta knows the terrifying rumors about Rowan Sylvanan, who drowned his entire family when he was a boy. But neither the estate nor the monster are what they seem.

As Leta falls for Rowan, she discovers he is bound to the Lord Under, the sinister death god lurking in the black waters of the lake. A creature to whom Leta is inexplicably drawn… Now, to save Rowan—and herself—Leta must confront the darkness in her past, including unraveling the mystery of her connection to the Lord Under.

Advance praise for LAKESEDGE

Clipstone’s LAKESEDGE drips with romance and mystery. It’s bloody, sumptuous, and as timeless as a fairy tale

April Genevieve Tucholke, author of The Boneless Mercies

A shadow-drenched fairytale that readers will happily devour. Lyndall Clipstone’s lush prose lends itself to a world both dark and elegant, brimming with monsters and a young woman brave enough to face them

Emily Lloyd-Jones, author of The Bone Houses

LAKESEDGE is an intense tale of mystery and magic that will have lovers of gothic romance eager for the next instalment

Juliet Marillier, author of the Blackthorn & Grim and Warrior Bards series

With notes of LABYRINTH and THE SECRET GARDEN, Clipstone combines the best elements of gothic romance and horror into a debut novel that pulls readers under and doesn’t let them up for air until the very last page

Kiersten Frost, Brookline Booksmith

LAKESEDGE is a lush, alluring novel full to the brim with tension, gothic beauty, moonlight and magic. Details in the evening heat of summer, pomegranates bursting with seed and petals caught in Violeta’s red curls burst off the page, limning this story with the visuals of a pre-raphaelite painting

Cristina Maria Russell, Books & Books

LAKESEDGE crawls into your soul, like frost growing on a window or a shadow emerging from a dark corner, and entrances you with lovely prose and intriguing characters

Rachel Strolle, Teen Librarian, Glenside Public Library

LAKESEDGE gripped me by the wrist and led me through the darkest forest… I loved every step. This book has everything I could ever want

Kel Russell, Barnes & Noble Indiana

Content warnings for LAKESEDGE can be found here.

Newsletter

Click here to sign up to my newsletter, Magic Letters, for occasional news, behind-the-scenes details about LAKESEDGE, and life & publishing updates.